Star Wars Episode VIII: The Last Jedi

viii-logo-tall-1536x864-414669331908As I posted my tribute to Carrie Fisher yesterday afternoon, StarWars.com broke the news that the next installment of “the Skywalker Saga” (as they called it) has been given a name. Ready yourself for Star Wars Episode VIII: The Last Jedi. I delayed publishing this because I wanted my Carrie Fisher article to sit up on my site for a full day.

So, with that, We have a new title.

It will come as no surprise to you all that I greet this announcement with much trepidation. I still don’t like the new direction taken in The Force Awakens. I still don’t like how Luke, Han and Leia were all portrayed. I still don’t like how we just threw everything they accomplished in the original trilogy in the garbage to sell new toys and bring in new characters. I still hate that we killed off Han just to make Mr. Ford happy.

I’m also broken hearted that with the death of Carrie Fisher we will never get to give Leia her due. No solution either Disney or Lucasfilm comes up with will be as wonderful as what would have happened with Carrie’s inclusion in Episode IX. (this one is a topic for another post).

Things to notice, or rather things, I noticed.

This title is shorter than any title of the second in the trilogy titles

  • Attack of the Clones
  • The Empire Strikes Back
  • The Last Jedi

The Star Wars words are outlined in what I can only call Sith or Darth Vader red, not the usual beautiful yellow. To me, that signals an episode where the bad guys might have the upper hand. I expect battles, with some small victories but the war will not yet be won.

The use of the word Jedi. Now the Jedi appear twice in titles in the saga. That will make the shorthand reference to movies just a little more complicated. Perhaps that’s only ever been a think for those of us who are old school. We refer to “Star Wars”, “Empire”, and “Jedi” when talking about the original Three. I’ve never heard anyone refer to the Prequels as anything other than their full names.  Same as TFA. So perhaps this isn’t going to be a thing.

The title itself. I feel like something else in the Star Wars extended universe, or comics or novels has been called “the Last Jedi.”  I am sure a quick internet search will find what my old brain can only vaguely recall. (and yes, it did, here is it: The Last Jedi which was not about Luke)

The tense of the word Jedi. As used in Star Wars, Jedi  can refer to one Jedi (as in, I am a Jedi like my father before me) or several Jedi (as in the Jedi order). We already were told that Luke was a Jedi, and that he was the last of the Jedi in Return of the Jedi. Presumably, Luke worked to restart the Jedi order, or something like it, after Return of the Jedi. Also, presumably, it didn’t go so well. Does this title refer again to Luke, or to someone to follow in his footsteps (Rey?) or to whatever happened to that fledgling Jedi order? What does this really mean for Luke.

Unlike the tact I took leading up to The Force Awakens, I plan to read any and all spoilers and speculation I can find out there on the internet. If I find that they do, indeed, kill off Luke, I just might have to catch this one on DVD.

 

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

