RSM Review: Ahsoka (novel) by E. K. Johnston

ahsokanovelThis one is a tough one for me to review. I have mixed feelings about the book itself, so I don’t know what to say about it.

I love Ahsoka Tano. She’s fast become one of my top two favorite characters in all of the Star Wars universe, second only to Leia. I saw the original Star Wars when I was 8, and have been a devoted fan ever since. I’ve read a ton of the Expanded Universe novels and am trying to come to grips with it all having been reclassified as Legends. This universe is one my favorite places to visit.

I loved Ahsoka since she first appears in the Clone Wars cartoon movie, even though most found her annoying. As she grew and matured throughout the course of the Clone Wars TV show, I loved her even more. When she returned to the Rebels cartoon, I was beyond overjoyed. That’s about how I felt when I found out a book would be coming out with more of her story.

Overall, I enjoyed the book, but only found parts of it that made me feel that same sense of joy. I attribute most of this to the completely forgettable secondary characters with which Ashoka spends almost the entirety of the book living interacting with. I just didn’t care about any of them. I know we’re supposed to, but they were so bland that I had trouble even remembering their names.

The only new characters that I found remotely interesting were the other Togruta who owned the bar on the planet where most of the action takes place and a young force sensitive girl that Ahsoka met prior to the main action of the novel.

There are a series of anecdotes of things that happened prior to the novel every few chapters. Darth Maul and Captain Rex appear in them and answer some open questions from the Clone Wars. I enjoyed these vignettes a great deal. My favorite part happened toward the end of the book and involved an old friend. I won’t mention it here in case it spoils things. These chapter were what I was hoping the entire book would be like, and added to my disinterest in the main storyline.

As the book ended, I was actually excited for what could be the next book. I felt like this book served as a set up to what will be some really amazing stories. Thankfully this book sold really well (it went to #1 on the on New York Times YA best sellers list), so I am hopeful that there are more Ahsoka stories to come.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

