Sharing some of my birthday pixie dust

Wednesday was my birthday. Since I’m fairly far into my adult years, I don’t want for much on my birthday. I buy Disney Vera Bradley or Dooney and Bourke purses when I see them and don’t wait for special days or for my husband to buy them for me (or I buy them and give them to him to give to me!) In fact, the birthday wish I shared on my FaceBook page was a note reminding my friends that even if we don’t agree we can still be kind. This is especially important to me as I watch the country fight over this darned election.

In keeping with my birthday week, I shared a little pixie dust and magic with a stranger this morning. I am not overly religious but I am a person of faith, and when I am quiet and listen inside to that little voice that urges me to do good things, I feel like there’s something more than just me in this universe. I listened to that little voice this morning, and it has filled me with much happiness.

I was at Target, picking up candy for the office and for my children to give out at Halloween when I stopped to get my birthday drink from the Starbucks. A very pregnant Mom with an adorable little daughter who had to be somewhere around 1 1/2 got into line behind me. As I was waiting for my Pumpkin Spice Latte, the mom chatted along with her daughter, giving her stickers to put into her book to keep her pleasantly busy as they waited for their coffee. She ordered a Latte, and when her daughter gently asked for a muffin (complete with a “please”) I was overcome with the urge to treat them to their order. I don’t know why. It just felt like what I should do.

So I asked her if I might treat her and her daughter, and she graciously accepted. Then I went on to compliment her on her the brilliant sticker and notebook idea to help her daughter to also enjoy shopping. She told me that her husband is in the Army and they move around a lot. She stumbled on the sticker trick when they stopped in a Target’s dollar aisle and ever since then, it’s been her lifeline to keep her daughter busy on plane flights or shopping trips. I asked if her husband was in town, and she said he’s currently deployed outside of DC at an Army base, training to be an combat doctor and undergoing combat simulations right now. They’ve been apart for a bit, but will get to see him this weekend.

That’s why my little voice told me to treat her. She’s raising an amazing little girl, probably mostly on her own, with warmth and love and caring. She’s about to have another one. It was obvious that she was very pregnant, but I didn’t ask what she’s having or when she’s due. But soon, she’ll be raising two little ones most likely on her own in new towns away from family while her husband spends time away. I have so much love and respect for this woman, for the kindness she showed to her daughter, and for the kindness she brought into my morning.

Thank you, little voice, celestial energy, God, for urging me to spread some love this morning. It came back to me as so much more than what it cost me to buy that latte and muffin.

Today, the world is a slightly better place than it was yesterday. That’s really my birthday wish.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

