I’ve seen Star Wars: The Force Awakens…(no specific spoilers)

Knowing that I am hugely devoted Star Wars fan, a few of my friends have asked me whether or not I liked Star Wars: The Force Awakens. I feel like saying yes or no is in itself a spoiler, so I haven’t answered them. In fact, I have a spoiler-filled opinion blog piece all written, but since the movie just came out, I will hold off on making it live on my blog. It just felt good to get it all down “on virtual paper.”

For now, I will give you only part of the blog post as my answer to the question and then post the whole thing at a later time.

Let me set the stage, so that you’re not thinking I am some fair-weather fan. I saw Star Wars, then only called Star Wars, in the theaters at the age of 8 in 1977. You can do the math. It stirred me like no entertainment had up to then and ever would after. Only The Empire Strikes Back would come close to recreating those feelings for me. I have since watched the original trilogy easily over 100 times each. I know all of the dialog. I can see a frame grab and begin reciting lines from that scene on. I hear the music and I know exactly what’s happening. I’ve been a fangirl since before fangirls became the rage all over twitter.

Did I like the movie? In a word, no. I didn’t like it. In fact, I was ready for it to end long before it did.

I leave it to the masses to follow Star Wars from now on. I know why you like it. It’s a good enough film. It’s got good characters and beautiful special effects. It just did too many things to break my heart. I can’t feel anything but sad thinking about it, and I don’t really ever want to watch it again. Instead, I will sit back with my original trilogy and ignore what has happened in TFA while I imagine my own future.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

