Things have a strange way of working out

A while ago, you might remember that I blogged about a bit of Mom guilt I had been experiencing. You can read the recap here.  The short summary is that I missed a performance my son had when he was in second grade, and he was still sad about it two years later. It is the only time I’ve ever let him down and I think that the hurt from it will take both of us a long time to get past.

The day was fast approaching that my daughter was going to perform just as her older brother had, in the living stations of the cross with her second grade class at her school. She had memorzed her lines and was all set to be a soldier who pushes Jesus along his walk with the cross to the crucifixion.

The days leading up to the performance, both she and her brother missed school for various illnesses. She had been sick first with what seemed like pink eye, but was just the same virus that was causing her nose to run. I had to keep her home from school to make sure it wasn’t pink eye. Two days later her brother was home with cold induced asthma.

The day of the performance came, and my son and I were on our second day with him home sick from school. We dropped my daughter off at school, then came home and did a little of his homework to keep him caught up with class. After lunch, we started to pack up for school when we got a phone call from the school nurse. My daughter had come down to the nurse complaining of a headache that wouldn’t go away. Since we were already on our way, I told the nurse that we’d be there in about a half hour, and I would give her something for her headache.

Half way from home to the school, we got another call from the school. This time it was from the front office. My daughter had thrown up, so they were packing her things up and sending her home. No living stations. No performance.

As we arrived at the school, my son smiled for the first time since my daughter started talking about her class doing the stations. He told me that while he wasn’t happy that his sister threw up, he was just the littlest bit  happy that I wasn’t going to see her performance.

So, in the end, it looks like Mom doesn’t get to see either of her children in their second grade living stations performances. I was worried about how I would handle watching my daughter perform when I missed my son’s performance. How would I express my happiness at seeing my daughter without upsetting my son.

It turns out that  I will never have to worry about breaking one child’s heart while showing praise to the other. I missed my son’s performance because I didn’t know I was supposed to go to it. I missed my daughter’s because she, herself, also missed it. Now it’s time for all of us to let it go, myself included, and move forward.

I guess the Lord works in mysterious ways. For those of you who believe in that sort of thing.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

