JJ Abrams to direct new Star Wars movie

Everyone who knows me has been asking me what my thoughts are about the announcement that JJ Abrams will be directing the new Star Wars movie. I love Star Wars. Seeing A New Hope at an impressionable age is probably part of why I am a Rocket Scientist today. I also love JJ Abrams work: Alias, Lost, and now Fringe.

Actually, I am the target audience for the announcement. I should be overjoyed. I should be thrilled. I am not. I am just worried.

If you follow me on twitter you know why. I hated the Star Trek reboot. Hated it. Simply hated it.

I was really excited when a new Trek was in the theaters. I was excited to watch a new installment from one of my favorite mythos. I wasn’t very happy with the last two traditional Trek movies (Nemesis was horrible), and was looking forward to something good.

I was less excited once the credits rolled and the movie was over. It is a good science fiction space movie. I will give you that. But it’s not a good Star Trek movie. It’s more about angst and bad guys interacting with actors doing great impersonations of the Original Series cast, and less about the exploration and seeking of new lifeforms that made the Star Trek I love so wonderful.

I left the show feeling that as a fan, I’d been cast aside. Setting the action in a new alternate reality gave the creators a clean slate. The reboot was cheating in a way, a shortcut. That’s fine for the creators. I understand their motivation. They are free of any and all responsiblity to past/present/future established story lines. But for me as a Trek fan and movie goer, I am not interested in going to this alternate reality where the future timeline I know isn’t going to happen, (or where Vulcan no longer exits). I left the new Star Trek so very sad. I’m am not interested in returning to that alternate reality/timeline. It makes me sad that I have no interest in going to the new movie this summer. It really looks like it will be more of the same.

When I go to the theater to see a movie, it’s driven more by my desire to spend time in a world that interests me with characters I care about. JJAbrams knows how to make characters that I care about. Sometimes, though, he skimps on the world.

I don’t want that to happen with Star Wars. Since I cannot affect anything about the new movie, I stopped ranting on twitter, and promised my followers I’d stop cluttering their timelines with my worries. I thought I’d bring them here one last time, since I am not entirely finished with my worrying.

I love Star Wars – Episodes IV, V, VI. There’s no one series of movies that mean as much to me as they do (especially The Empire Strikes Back). I Love Lost. There’s no TV series that means as much to me as that show. I know from the small nods in Lost that JJAbrams loves Star Wars too. I want Star Wars to be Star Wars, not something new, fresh, dark or brooding. I can only hope that just like Hurley, JJ wants that for his Star Wars too.

May the Force be with him.

(I had to say it. I promise it will be the last time.)

Fingers crossed.
RSM

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

