A small taste of irony

I tried to get to my blog from work yesterday. I wasn’t going to post to it. I just wanted to read it like I read dozens of other blogs on my lunch break.   Mostly, I wanted to see whether the post I’d written and scheduled had actually gone live. Under the rules and requirements for use of computer systems at work, reading blogs on our lunch breaks is allowed.

Unfortunately, our Firewall at work now blocks my blog.

The firewall blocking is a new occurrence because I’ve checked to see if a post went live by reading my blog at work before. It’s been so long since I posted anything, though, that I can’t say for sure when I was last successful.

When I navigated to the page that you all navigate to when you read this blog, rocketsciencemom.wordpress.com, I got our “This site is blocked by your organization” website. The reason for the block? Essentially something about being uncertain about the content of the site and whether it is work related.

If I believe that the site is being unnecessarily blocked, I can issue a help ticket with our IT support group to have them go into the Firewall rules and excuse this particular site. I have had to do that before for legitimately work related sites that held information on spacecraft and launch vehicles and related systems, that were blocked by the third party firewall software IT security implemented. In the past, it was a relatively painless process. We have a new IT support contract that seems to offer anything but support for IT, so I don’t know how smoothly the process would work now.

I am leaning toward not going to create a help ticket to get access to my blog. It just seems too much like narcissism.  The small irony of this does make me laugh. You’d think that of all the blogs I read on my lunch hour, mine would be applicable to where I work. The very title of the blog has the word Rocket in it!

Maybe the firewall rules have been recently updated and they will eventually open access back up again. Until then, I will have to check my blog on my iPhone if I want to do it during the day, or just wait until my children and husband allow me time to sit on my computer at home.

I hope that your organization isn’t blocking my blog as something you shouldn’t be reading at work.

Enjoy!
RSM

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

