Getting ePub books onto my iPad

I have a number of epub formatted books to read, that up until now I have had on my nook for when I wanted to step away from my computer to read them. In keeping with my goals of trying to read things on my iPad2 now, I wanted to move these documents onto my iPad2.

I know the brute force method is to take them from my MacBook, I could drag and drop the books into iTunes to be uploaded into my iBooks bookshelf while the iPad2 is tethered via its USB cable and syncing via iTunes.

But I don’t want to do that. I want to be able to do as much as possible without having to go back and tether the iPad2 to my MacBook. I know this has got to be possible, but for a while I was at a bit of a standstill.  Then I thought of dropbox.  Looking back at it, I am surprised I didn’t think of it sooner.

Here is my solution. I loaded all of the ePub formatted books into my dropbox from my Macbook. Note how this still required me to go to a Mac at first. Then I launched the dropbox app on my iPad2 and navigated to the epub book. Choosing one of the book file names brings up a drop down menu where I can choose which application to use to open the documents. iBooks was one of the choices. Choosing iBooks opened the iBooks app where I watched the epub book I was hoping to read enter the iBooks “bookshelf” to find a home right next to my Steve Job biography.

I have not yet synced the iPad2 to my MacBook, so this setup hasn’t been backed up and saved into iTunes, but the book is still in the iBook bookshelf every time I open the application.

It worked and, more importantly, it was easy.

RSM.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

