Checking out an electronic epub formatted library book: part 1 – to read on my nook

About a year ago, I bought a refurbished Barnes and Nobel Nook so that I could check out eBooks from the local library and read them in my spare time. I already owned an iPad, but my children used it to play games and drawing applications so much that I didn’t think I’d have use of it enough to read.

I wanted to check back in here and describe the steps I had to go through, and still have to go through, to check eBooks out of the library and put them onto my nook. I found that doing this for the iPad was almost the same but slightly different. I will write up those instructions separately.

All of the instructions below are for the epub or pdf format and follow this simple path: check out the ebook, download the eBook to your Mac, put the eBook onto your eReader. I have found at least one eBook that I was able to check out directly to my iPad2 without having to use my Mac as an intermediate step.

Note: While I do not have a kindle, from what I have read, checking out a kindle library book is a different process altogether and takes place almost entirely in the cloud. Most libraries now have epub, pdf and kindle formatted books. Only epub and pdf formatted books are covered in these instructions.

Step one: Checking into and out of the library

Reserving and checking out an epub formatting ebook from the library is a fairly straightforward process. For the following instructions, the library in question is the Cuyahoga Country Public Library, although I would assume that other libraries will work the same. Once you have a library card and associated account number, you simply go to the library’s website and create an electronic login complete with a pin number.  At the library’s digital site, you can check out an epub formatted eBook by putting it into your “cart” or place a hold so that you will get a turn in the queue to check out the eBook.

Step Two: Downloading to your computer

Once you check out the cart from within your browser, you are given the option to downloadsa small file. I do not believe there is a limit to the number of times you can download it. This file is not a pdf or epub file itself. It is, I presume, is a link to download the ePub book (which is my choice).   To open and read the DRM marked file you will need another application.

Step Three: Adobe Digital Editions

In order to open the file on my Mac, I had to install the application Adobe Digital Editions. ADE requires an account. This account is needed to open these borrowed eBooks, whether you read them on your mac or some other platform.

From the ADE description: “Digital Editoins makes is easy to transfer protected eBooks between multiple computers and mobile devices”.

When you download the ebook file via your web browser and double click it, the ADE application launches and downloads the borrowed library book. The interface is similar in concept to the iTunes store, with the ability to create folders of books. A folder titled “borrowed” is created once you download borrowed material. Within the ADE window, you see the file name of your book with a designation of “borrowed” at the end as well as the date that the lending period will expire. Once you reach that date, you will no longer be able to open that document.  In the same way that iTunes is a front end for the content in your iTunes folder, the ADE creates a folder in your documents folder called “find the name” where it downloads the epub-formatted files. Deleting them from within the ADE window does not delete them off of your mac.

Step Four: uploading to your nook

With ADE launched, plug in your nook to the USB port. The nook will load within the ADE window as an additional folder, similar to the way that iPads, iPhones, iPods will mount within the iTunes window and allow the user to drag and drop content into them. With the nook mounted within ADE, you can drag the borrowed library book onto the nook.  Now, your nook has the borrowed library book loaded and you are ready to read. You can read it either on your Mac within the ADE application or on your nook.

Step Five: Reading on your nook

Now that the eBook is on your nook, simply unmount it from your mac by ejecting it, and you are ready to read. The DRM restrictions on the book file will lock it from being opened once your lending period has expired.  For me, this has left me with a number of epub files that no longer open. Every once in a while, in order to free up disk space, I try to go and clean up the files that have expired.

Loading the epub formatted eBook onto my iPad is similar to the above steps in some cases, but easier in others. I will write up those instructions in another blog post. I have found that for some digital books,  on the iPad I don’t need to put my computer in the download path, and for others, I do.  Since I found it all a bit of a process, I thought I might as well capture it here for others.  Consider that your coming soon preview.

Enjoy your reading.

RSM.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

One Response to Checking out an electronic epub formatted library book: part 1 – to read on my nook

  1. Pingback: Checking out an electronic epub formatted library book: part 2 – to read on my iPad « Rocket Science and kids

Leave a Reply

