Setting up the Apple TV: Part 1, installation

I am still amazed that the 2nd Generation Apple TV my husband and I ordered as our Christmas present to each other arrived at our house less than 24 hours after we’d ordered it. It was a last minute decision, the day before Christmas Eve, and we pretty much expected it to arrive after the holiday. Low and behold, I received an email before even going to bed that night that it has shipped. The Fed Ex truck came to our house by lunch time the next day. That is service. I don’t know where Apple shipped it from, but with two Apple stores in my area (one on each side of town) perhaps Apple uses the stores to do mail orders as well.

That having been said, I was also amazed at how tiny the Apple TV actually is. I expected a box about the size of the original Airport base station, but what came in side the package was tiny. The packaging is thinner than the box the iPhone4 comes in, and only slightly wider. This thing is tiny.

We opened it, and gently pealed off the black tape that covered all of the ports to protect them in shipping. As always, Apple packages their gadgets with much love and care. I have never opened electronics more beautifully packaged than my Apple products.

From the time we opened the cardboard box, through unwrapping and unpackaging the the Apple TV itself, to hooking it up to the HDTV via an HDMI cable, the whole installation took minutes. While I did go to Apple’s site to fine the Apple TV manual (they stopped putting manuals in the boxes with the products years ago), I didn’t read it (yet). Putting a link in this article is as much for my future use as for the reader.

A word of caution to those purchasing the Apple TV, Apple does not include an HDMI cable in the box, so if you don’t already have one, you will need to purchase one. The only things that come in the box are the Apple TV itself, a power cord, and a tiny Apple remote. My husband had already purchased one at the time of ordering the HD TV itself. Cables have a huge markup, so as much as I love Apple, I wouldn’t recommend buying the HDMI cable from them directly.

The only additional setup set was to go into the HDTV’s inputs selector, turn on the power on the Apple TV and program into the HDTVs system that the HDMI input was coming from the Apple TV.

That’s the installation. Next up will be the setup to get content through the Apple TV onto the TV. I’ve tried both streaming via iTunes from my MacBook, as well as Airplay from both my iPad2 and my iPhone4. Spoiling the end of the story, they all just worked. 🙂

Enjoy.
RSM.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

2 Responses to Setting up the Apple TV: Part 1, installation

  1. Pingback: Setting up the Apple TV: Part 3, Apple’s Remote app « Rocket Science and kids

  2. Pingback: The end of my iPad only experiment « Rocket Science and kids

Leave a Reply

