Drawing a Day: RSM Day 39 – A cup of Tea

Teacup

I was putting together an event invite in facebook for a school sponsored mother-daughter tea party, and decided that I didn’t want to use some clip art for the graphic. So I used this as my opportunity to do a small sketch for today. I wanted to capture the simple nature of a tea party and some pink since this is, after all, for my daughter who adores pink. I drew it really quickly, as more of a gesture sketch than a delicate drawing from life. Typically, I draw what I see, and prefer to draw from a still life of life drawing subject. This one is totally from my imagination.

Without further adieu, here is a quick drawing of a teacup, done on my iPhone 4 using the Brushes app and taking advantage of the use of layers. I don’t normally use layers. I was more or less “classically training” in drawing, and having never used photoshop, or any of the other computer graphics programs, I just paint or draw, one layer on top of the next using physical pencil or paint on paper or canvas. Doing something in virtual layers, so you can more easily do things like lift the black outline drawing on top of the coloring (as I did here) isn’t they way I think. At least, it’s not the way I think when drawing or painting. I thought I’d give it a try here, and I am happy with the way it looks.

Enjoy and have a nice warm cup of tea.
RSM.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

One Response to Drawing a Day: RSM Day 39 – A cup of Tea

Leave a Reply

