Drawing a Day: RSM Day 36

Gesture drawing - my daughter smiles

These days I am starting to think I need to retitle these drawings from “Drawing a Day” to “Drawing a Week” since that’s more of the pace I can keep. Either way, I have drawn more this year because of my own personal motivation here, than I have drawn in the last 8 1/2 years (since my first child came along).

Without further adieu, for my drawing this week, I present another drawing from my iPhone, and done in just a quick time. This is my daughter, smiling and posing. I used a photo as a reference, and only gave myself about 10 minutes (if that) to do this drawing. I tried to keep it light and gesture drawing style.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

4 Responses to Drawing a Day: RSM Day 36

  1. delhiboy says:

    Goodness me. It’s gorgeous! You capture her delightful nature perfectly 🙂 Thank you for sharing.

    P.S. What iPhone software? Maybe I can doodle for a few hours and make something a tenth as good 🙂

  2. I use an app called Brushes. It hasn’t been updated in a long long while, but it’s really easy to use. I have Sketchbook Pro also (which I think is also available via the Mac app store in a free version) but it doesn’t work the way I think like Brushes does.

    You can find it here
    http://www.brushesapp.com/

    They have both an iPhone ($4.99) and an iPad ($7.99) version. I have both.

  3. Love this one! I think that drawings of the kids are so sweet and important..this is inspirational to me..I used to draw mine when they were babies…asleep…but time is slipping away…time for more drawings 🙂

  4. Pick up your pencil and draw those kids. 🙂 I need to tell myself to do it more often too. The baby years are already gone.

Leave a Reply

