RSM Reprint from GNMParents: Excuse me, Momma

Reprinted with permission by Foreverparenting.com from March 2010

Even when I have time off, I seem to bring my kids with me. Yesterday, I escaped from home for a few hours to get my hair colored. It is about my only indulgence and one of the few times I get to be on my own without kids in tow. While talking with the hairdresser about children, we found we held similar beliefs on how to handle it when our children interrupt our adult conversations. We both thought that to interrupt our conversation was no small price to pay to answer something our kids needed to ask. Upon further reflection, though, I find that while I do believe that adults can more easily hit the pause button in their conversations to take care of a question of a child, there are times when I do make them wait their turn.

In my heart, I don’t mind putting any adult conversation on hold to answer a question or address a need that one of my children have. I am working to teach them to say “excuse me” when interrupting, and figure that using manners is lessen enough. Plus, at least with my children, I have found that they sometimes forget what it was that they were going to ask me in the first place if I have them wait until I finish my conversation. That leads to unnecessary frustration that could have been avoided.

Then there are times like last summer when we were on vacation in Canada with my Mom, brother, step Dad and step sister. I was having a conversation with my Mom and brother, and (no exaggeration) I couldn’t get more than four words out at a time before my son or daughter needed something and needed it RIGHT NOW. After not finishing a single thought, and making sure that they were in no immediate danger and suffering from no emergency situation, I asked them to just wait until I was done with my conversation (or I would have lost my mind).

So, while I’d like to think I will always pleasantly allow them to interrupt my adult conversations with a polite “Excuse me Momma”, I am pretty sure there will be times when I’d just like to finish my sentence.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

