Sometimes They Hear You

They hear even when they aren't lookingEvery once in a while, I learn that my kids really do listen to the things I tell them. One such time came about this weekend with a story my sister shared about her most recent time with my kids.

A couple weeks back, my sister came over to watch the kids for me. I had a meeting to attend at my son’s school and my husband was out of town (again). My kids love their Aunt and they had a fantastic time. They spent the evening drawing pictures and watching cartoons.

My sister related a story about the drawing portion of the evening. My daughter asked her to draw her a picture. When asked what she would like her to draw, my daughter suggested a drawing of her.

I must interject that if I weren’t a Rocket Scientist, I’d have become an artist. I love to draw and paint and have taken many classes in my spare time to improve my craft. It is one of my greatest joys, that my children have taken after me and are both budding artists in their own right. Knowing artists as I do, and being sensitive to the creative spirit in myself, I know that you only improve through practice. Sometimes you go through a lot of paper until you reach a drawing you like. I spend a lot of gentle time with my two artists in training. I try to teach them to be patient with their art and with themselves as they get frustrated when something they are creating doesn’t look the way they want it to.

When asked to do a portrait, my sister cautioned my daughter that she’s not that good at drawing people. My daughter responded as follows: “That’s ok. Everyone is different. Look at my drawing. Yours will be different but it will still be good. We all do things differently and that’s good.”

When my sister related this to me, I cried. Not only had my daughter heard me, but she believed enough to offer the same council to one of her favorite people in the whole world.

Sometimes when you think they don’t hear you, they surprise you with just how well they actually did.

by Rocket Science Mom
Reprinted here with permission. GNMParents.com and Forever Parenting.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

One Response to Sometimes They Hear You

Leave a Reply

