The end of an era

This week marked the ending of a phase of life for me. I was going to come here to the blog at the close of this week and recount my children starting back at school at the end of summer vacation. Then, yesterday, Steve Jobs tendered his resignation and stepped down as CEO of Apple. The two events have combined to leave me feeling that I have marked the end of some sort of era.

With the start of back to school, I now have two children in grade school. No more daycare. No more having them on site with me at the child care facility located on property at work and where they and I have spent the better part of the past 8 1/2, almost 9 years. My daughter has entered first grade and we have both graduated from the home we knew for what seems like forever.

The on site child care is run by a director and managed by a board made up of parents. I was lucky to be one of those parents for most of the time my children were at the daycare. I originally signed up because I am a chronic volunteer and because I wanted to be involved in my children’s lives as much as I could. I wanted to know everything they were doing during the 8 hours they were away from me while I went back to work.

Serving on the board allowed me that involvement and more. I have made friends with parents and teachers that I would probably never have had the chance to meet. My life has been made all the richer for it.

Then on Wednesday, as I dropped off both my children at their grade school, and made the rest of my drive in to work solo, it finally hit me. I had been waiting for the sense of loss and change since the beginning of the summer, when my term as President of the Board had come to a close. Since my children were attending summer camp at the daycare, I was still there every day, Monday through Friday. It wasn’t until this past Wednesday that I actually entered the gate at work, and drove on past the daycare. Just like that, the tears started streaming down my face.

I am not needed there anymore. Another Board serves now. Another president will help the director run things. The daycare will go on with new children and new faces. They will continue and they will flourish.

Passing by the school, and seeing the three and four year olds outside on the swingset brought me to tears. I remember when my little ones were pre schoolers. I remember when they were babies. I know that friends of mine have just taken their children off to college, and I have only just taken mine to grade school, but I can see the passage of time. I can see the horizon of college, moving out, getting a job, marriage, children, etc. I can see my little ones growing so quickly.

I love them now, and have loved them and been amazed by them at every single age. I have also wanted time to stop just for a while, every single day. It never does.

All we have is now, and all we can do is our very best to live each day fully and capture every memory we can. No regrets.

It was with this sort of emotional wistfulness that met the news that Steve Jobs has decided the time has come to step down. I can’t help but think that he sees the end and wants to make sure he’s lived every last day capturing every last memory he can. No regrets.

This column is not the one in which I will wax poetic (if I ever do) about what Steve Jobs and his magical devices have meant to me. Suffice it to say that had it not been for the Mac, I do not think I’d be a Rocket Science Mom today. In so many ways, the Mac, which seemed built entirely to work the way my mind worked, made it possible for me to let go of worrying about the tools and really grab onto the rocket science.

I wish you well, Mr. Steve Jobs, and I hope that you are with us for a long long while still.

Time goes quickly. Life goes quickly. Live every second.

Good night.
RSM.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

