Learn something new: iPhone photos to MobileMe

I took a few photos with my iPhone this morning before leaving for work. Photos I wanted to use, eventually, up on this blog (more on that later). I tend to be more tethered than cloud based in the way I get data onto and off of my iPhone. After taking the photos, I connected the iPhone to my Macbook, launched iPhoto, and downloaded the photos to my Mac.

I had intended to move the photos over to either my dropbox or my MobileMe account, or even email them to myself at work so that I could upload them to the blog in a draft post to be published later. Sadly, as it always happens in the mornings, my kids needed my attention, and I was unable to do more than download the photos.

As I sat down at work, I thought that I would just email the photos to myself from within the photo viewer on the iPhone. Then I looked at the options inside the photo viewer, and one was “Send to MobileMe.” I had never noticed that before, mostly because I was only looking for the Email Photo option and just didn’t see it.

As a MobileMe member, I decided to try that option. And it worked. It took about a minute each over 3G for the photos to upload, but they uploaded just fine. Now they sit in my MobileMe account under a folder called “iPhoto Album”. The only trouble with this option is that the MobileMe Gallery appears to be a published page (which I think is going away with the iCloud service in the future) and not necessarily a file share. I don’t want these photos shared on the web. I just want them saved.

So, I think I might delete them, unless I can figure out a way to make the gallery page private. Still, it was an interesting thing to stumble upon as I played around with my iPhone. As much as I consider myself to be the ultimate apple fangirl, there are always things I didn’t know I could do.

I bow to you Cupertino.
RSM.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

One Response to Learn something new: iPhone photos to MobileMe

  1. I’m going to have to learn this stuff eventually..but I still don’t have a cellphone…I know I’m weird..I am getting tempted to have one though….I am going to have to have a teenager explain lots of things to me 🙂 (Heedless)

Leave a Reply

