RSM thoughts on keeping up a blog when you’re a Mom

Trying to set up some posts with drawings ahead of time here as I sit and as my kids are busy playing Plants vs. Zombies on my iPhone and iPad, so that there is some activity at this site. It seems when I sit down at my computer (or iPhone, or iPad), my kids inevitably need something. I don’t think I’ve completed a thought at home in the 8 plus years since I became a mom. I know I haven’t finished a conversation, or managed to talk on the phone for any length of time.

I got up early this morning, and decided to sit down at the kitchen table, cup of coffee in hand, and catch up on things like email, blogs, planning our upcoming vacation. I did manage to write one blog post, and schedule it for tomorrow, and I think I’ve gotten a few emails out of my inbox. Three hours have elapsed between when I started and now, and I know I didn’t spend those three hours sitting here at my MacBook.

Doing much of anything that isn’t answering the needs of your kids, is hard when you’re a mother. I am not upset by this fact, I simply state it. While they are here, under my care and under my roof, my kids take priority. If I don’t get to actually listen to you when I talk on the phone with you, do not take offense, my kids are my number one right now. I care about my other life, my life as me, but I care about my life as their Mom a bit more. I think that having had my kids in my 30s, and having traveled, taking art classes, bought my own home, etc already, prepared me for giving a bit of that up for a time.

As they get older, my kids need me less, and this allows me a bit more freedom to do my own things. I have actually managed to read 8 books this year. That is more books than I have been able to read in the last 8 years, and I am so very grateful for being able to get back to reading. I’ve also been able to do a number of drawings, posted here on this blog. The best part about the drawing is that I’ve done most of them with my kids, rather than having to hide from them with my iPhone to concentrate. I am looking forward to those days when we the kids and I will be sitting on the couch on these lazy rainy Sundays reading books together.

My kids are my two favorite people in the world, and every second I get to spend with them is a blessing. I am trying to capture as much of this time in my memory and in my mind to hold onto for those days when they don’t necessarily want to spend time with Mom.

For now, if I have to put my stuff on hold or get to it a bit later, I am fine with that. I hope you all are too.

Have a great day.
RSM.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

2 Responses to RSM thoughts on keeping up a blog when you’re a Mom

  1. mothers are more conscious now a days about their career. they now have to manage their jobs as well as their families. i think, making a balance between these two is really important for everyone. but of course, kids and families should be given no. one priority.

Leave a Reply

