Drawing a Day: RSM Day 29 and thoughts about painting

old Anglican Church This one took a little while to finally write up, and I apologize for that. Keeping a daily blog is outside of my ability to schedule these days, but having it “out there” reminding me to both draw and publish has helped me to draw more than I have have in years. It’s also helped me to improve my painting, if only a little bit. In summers past, I would never like the first painting I did. It seemed that I’d gotten a bit rusty in the application of paint onto the canvas over the previous year. The first painting always was the practice painting. If I was lucky enough to paint again while on vacation, I typically liked the second painting much better than the first. All of the paintings I’ve framed and hung at home or framed and given away as gifts, were the second painting I’d done on vacation.

The painting shown here is also the second one I painted while on vacation in Canada in July. It is of a former Anglican church, just up the road from the campground where we stay. I say former because over the past year, the Anglican church of Canada decided to close it and rather than donate the land to the town, they sold it to a private citizen. The locals are none to happy with this for a number of reasons. The church is charming. Small. And sits on a wonderful piece of land that looks over the Ottawa River. I liked the spot and the time of day because with the sun over my right shoulder, as I painted, the result was some very striking shadows on the structure. I love the play of light and shadow in any painting I do of man made structures.

As in the past, I like it better than the first painting (previous post) but only slightly so. As I was painting this one and the last one, the application of paint to canvas and the blending of the different paints of different hue, thickness, material felt more natural. I wandered less, and painted more. I attribute this to having used the iPhone painting app called Brushes over the last six months.

The Brushes app, when I set the opacity of the “paint” to medium, which allows the paints to “blend” mimics how I actually blend paints on canvas. I’ve been happy with the results, but was also happy that the time I’d spent using Brushes was good practice to getting back to painting.

The real test will be whether my family will actually let me return to painting outside of the once a year when we go on vacation schedule I am currently holding.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

2 Responses to Drawing a Day: RSM Day 29 and thoughts about painting

  1. Yorinda says:

    What a beautiful painting.

    Love the warmth of the colours and the light and shadows.

    Great talent!

    Love and Joy
    Yorinda

Leave a Reply

