How I consume my music and movies

I was thinking, as I ripped the latest CD I purchased for my kids (Lemonade Mouth) into iTunes, and then loaded that new playlist onto my 5+ year old video iPod (still going strong), about how I purchase and consume my music. In this age of easy downloads from iTunes or Amazon’s mp3 store, or from any number of places to purchase your music in digital form, I find that I still purchase physical CDs.

In thinking about my purchases, I almost never use my iTunes account to purchase music. When I received iTunes gift cards for holidays or birthdays, the credit in my account is almost exclusively used to purchase apps for my iPhone and iPad, with the occasional TV show I missed on first airing thrown in for good measure (hello Castle!). I rarely ever buy digital music. The only time I can think that I purchase music from iTunes is when I am searching from some long ago 80s one hit wonder tune.

I perfer to have the physical CD of whatever album from which I am interested in hearing tracks. I like to have the actual disk in my office, free to rip it to this or that computer. Free to delete it if I need file space and then go back and re-rip it at a later time. Free to loan it to my sister, or husband, or Mom, and then get it back again later. I guess I just like knowing that I will always have the music I purchased even if my computer goes ka-poohey. I don’t feel that same sense of security with the content I purchase online.

Continuing this analogy, I don’t purchase movies online either, from iTunes or Amazon, or any of the other places that are trying to sell digital movie content. For movies, there are more reasons to own the physical disk over the digital files. First, I don’t have enough hard disk space to hold the files for all of the movies I currently own. I know that hard disks are cheep, but I’m just not all set up with a good system for sharing the files. Second, again, I like knowing that I own the movie and can watch it whenever and wherever I want. Third, I need to be able to play movies in the car for the kids on long drives.

Eventually, I will give into the digital download age, but I have a feeling that won’t happen until they stop making physical CDs and DVDs or Blu Ray disks. There are still enough old fogies like myself that want to buy the physical disks to make it worth pressing and selling them.

Thank goodness.
RSM.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

