Dreaming of vacationing in Hawaii

We finally have some nice weather in my part of the world, and this feeling of spring has me longing to go on vacation. Yes, I am aware that I just got back from spending spring break in Florida, but after the week that followed my return and all of the furlough preparations that cluttered my mind and my days, I find I am in need of another vacation.

Taking a trip to Hawaii has always been the dream vacation of mine. Although Hawaii became a more interesting destination once Lost became my obsession on TV, I have wanted to go to Hawaii since I was a kid. My grandparents went to Hawaii on one of their anniversaries, and came back filled with love for the place. I still have a photo of them in their Hawaiian garb taken at a luau they raved about for years. Looking at that picture has always made me happy. For me, Hawaii has become this mythical wonderous place that I hope to see before my time on this planet has come to an end.

Now that Disney is building a vacation club resort in Hawaii (Called Aulani), my husband and I figured this was our chance to go. We are DVC members and absolutely love staying on Disney properties. So, combine the two, and it’s got to be the time. I had started to get my mind set on a Hawaii in 2012 vacation (end of the world and all) for us and the kids.

That all changed when we were in Disney World over spring break. The kids let me know that they are not, in fact, insterested in going to Hawaii next year. They just want to return to Disney World again next year (as we’ve done for every year since 2005) since that’s our family tradition. Mind you, they said all this through tear stained eyes so that it would have the most effect. No, the tears were real. My kids love going to Disney World as much as I do. The thought of not coming back for one year fills my heart with sadness. Apparently, it does the same for them. 🙂

I am a huge Disney World fan, and would go a couple times a year every year for the rest of my life is school schedules and money were no object. Odds are, even if next year does become the big Hawaii trip year, we will probably end up making time to head on down to Florida as well. I might not be able to go a year without visiting Mickey Mouse and friends.

Time will tell.

I still really want to see Hawaii someday.
RSM

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

