Drawing Once a Day: A New RSM Personal Goal

My kitty sleeps

In my spare time, I like to draw and paint. Since I had my children, spare time has become a thing of the past and my drawing and painting happens once maybe twice a year. It’s time for that to change.

I have been doing some thinking of how to find time to draw again, and I figured I am not going to find it, I just have to make it. If drawing is important to me, I need to try to fit it in. Nothing big, just a little sketch here or there.

My plan for 2011. I will try to draw something quick, using the Brushes app on either my iPhone or my iPad, once a day. Then I will post that thing here on the site. Maybe that will give me the motivation to do more drawing. I’ve read a lot of blogs by artists over the last year, and they seem to make themselves just draw something, in much the same way that writers make themselves just write something. I can easily get wrapped up reading facebook or twitter on my phone, but with Brushes right there, I need to turn off the social networking and get back to my art.

I don’t promise to be awesome, but it is something I enjoy doing. Hope that whatever I publish is enjoyed, but in the end, I am doing this for me. It’s the one selfish thing I will allow myself to do this year. 🙂

Enjoy and Happy Holidays RSM.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

