HerUniverse: Stuff for Geek girls

Bracelet and Star Wars figures

Her Universe Bracelet and my Star Wars ladies


I was listening to one of my Disney World related podcasts (The WDW Radio Show with the awesome Lou Mongello) several weeks (or is it months?) ago, and heard an interview with Ashley Eckstein… the voice of Ahsoka Tano on Star Wars the Clone Wars. We have a huge fan worship of Ashoka in our household and I was immediatly enchanted by the spunk and really infectious happiness of Ashley.

Ms. Eckstein was at Disney’s Hollywood Studios for the annual Star Wars weekends in the late spring/early summer, both as the voice of Ahsoka and as the owner of her own new Sci-Fi related company. Ashley has started Her Universe, an online seller of science fiction cool stuff for geek girls. You know, girls like me who owned Star Wars t-shirts when she was little and had to buy just about everything in the boys section of the store. After hearing the interview, I immediately started to follow Ashley on twitter. Her positive message to girls of all ages who just happen to like “boy stuff” was like a breath of fresh air. It’s like she’s me!

She had a blog post on her site not to long ago about a young girl who was ridiculed by her classmates for carrying a Star Wars backpack as a purse. I am a grown woman and I still get the occasional good natured ribbing for my Star Wars obsession. It might not end, but at least we geek girls know we’re not alone. 🙂

Ashley is running a sale on her items right now for the holidays, including a limited edition Holiday R2-D2 pin! Ashley is working on more items for the new year, so if there isn’t something that you’d like now, just wait. She’s got an active message board and a lot of her fans have been giving her suggestions of merchandise they’d like to see.

Head on over to heruniverse.com to see if there might be something there for the geek girl (or woman) in your life. You might just, like me, end up buying a couple things for yourself.

By the way, the image at the top of this post is my daughter’s collection of Star Wars Galactic Heroes ladies, along with the HerUniverse bracelet I won in a twitter giveaway Ashley ran this summer. It made my day.

Enjoy and Happy Holidays all.
RSM.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

6 Responses to HerUniverse: Stuff for Geek girls

  1. Dan Wallace says:

    Great post! I’ve been working a little with Ashley on the Her Universe line and can say absolutely that she’s 100% committed to this venture and is a super passionate fan. And so friendly too!

    • Her friendly and genuine personality totally come through in everything she’s putting out there, from her blog to the merchandise, to the spots she’s done on the podcasts around. I am a total SW fan (since forever) but I can happily say I am also an AE fan as well. Thanks for the comment, Dan.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention HerUniverse: Stuff for Geek girls « Rocket Science and kids -- Topsy.com

  3. Queen Karina says:

    I have met Ashley 2 times in one day actually at Star Wars Weekends! But she is such a sweet and kind person and she will take the time to talk to you, unlike many famous celebrities! She is extremely devoted to her clothing line and to her fans! She is truly an amazing and inspiring person! 🙂
    -Queen Karina

  4. Pingback: RSM Stats – 2010 in review « Rocket Science and kids

  5. Autumn says:

    That is so cool about y’all winning the bracelet! Ashley Eckstein is such an amazing person, and she’s really sweet and genuine! I met her at Disney World Star Wars Weekends back in June, and it was great! During the Behind the Force show (before I met her personally), Ashley picked me off the front row, called me up to the stage and gave me a Her Universe bracelet after saying “wow, we’ve we’ve got a really enthusiastic fan here in the front row!” As you can imagine, it was one of those hyperventalating-but-trying-not-to-say-anything-stupid moments. And I got even more excited when I was picked to audition for the little thing to dub Ahsoka in a scene from TCW. XD But anyway, this comment is already long enough. If you haven’t already, I really hope you meet Ashley in person!! May the Force be with you,
    Autumn

Leave a Reply

