It’s a good thing the kids and I love her…

Out kitty Suzie, sitting in her cat bed.

Suzie, striking the same pose she does on top of the laptop.

Our kitty cat, Suzie, very nearly ended her stay in our humble home this morning. She’s taken a liking to sitting on the keyboard of my laptop when I leave it open and running in my office. Since I never leave the laptop with an application open, she hasn’t destroyed any of my work (yet).

I understand the attraction for her. The laptop gets warm. Kitties like to be warm. She sits on it, regally, up straight with her tail wrapped around her legs. The couple of times I’ve caught her, she’s unapologetic and feels no need to dart quickly off of the computer and out of the room. In fact, I am pretty sure she thinks she’s done nothing wrong. On the contrary, since I am a loving and caring kitty cat momma, I must have set up this rectangle box of heat specifically to warm her and give her joy. She’s probably thinking what a wonderful family she has been adopted into, to leave such a warmth producing device out for her to take advantage of as the need for heat demands.

Today, that need to warm her bottom almost got her booted out of the house. My husband woke up early to finish some charts for a presentation he had first thing this morning at work. He spent a couple hours at the table, finishing things up on his laptop, then left the laptop sitting on that same table when he went up for a shower, leaving powerpoint up and running, the presentation he’d slaved over open inside.

Well, knowing that “daddy” also loves her, Suzie took this to mean that she now had a second place upon which to warm her bottom, and she discretely sat upon his laptop keyboard – deleting everything and apparently saving the “new” version of the presentation over top of the one he’d been working on all morning.

Needless to say, he left for work in angry spirits (a mood noticed by our kids) and chased the cat away from him whenever she tried to show him some kitty gratitude for the warm laptop.

I have yet to see my dear husband. He is RocketScienceDad, so we work at the same place. I am hoping that all was not lost, or that he was at least able to recover some of his work. If not, I suppose he had to tell everyone that he experienced furball-induced computer errors this morning and blame it on “the wife’s darned cat.” Sometimes folks are lighthearted about things like this. Sometimes not.

Fingers crossed that all went well.
RSM.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

