Disney Moms Panel – The emails are out

A while back, I wrote about applying for this year’s round of tryouts for the Walt Disney World Mom’s panel. I wasn’t going to try out for it, because I’d done so two years in a row and only ended up getting the disappointing “thanks but we found someone better” email for my troubles. Yes, I know a LOT of people apply but it still stings.

This year, I ended up applying to join all my twitter disney friends who were also throwing their hats in the virtual ring. Many of them didn’t make it to the second round. In fact, most of them didn’t. The emails came out Monday and Tuesday letting us all know whether we were moving to round two or were politely not invited into this exclusive disney club.

You can probably tell by the lack of “hooray! I made it” in this post that I did not, in fact, make it through the first round of the Disney Mom’s panel selection process. Instead, I received an email which started:

“On behalf of all of us at Disney Destinations, LLC, thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to apply for the 2011 Walt Disney World® Moms Panel.”

Yup, that’s never a good way to start an email.

I actually didn’t think that I would make it past the first round. The application process was four (or was it five) questions with a ridiculously small amount of space in which to answer the questions. This year, the questions really weren’t anything that would allow candidates to do much in the way of shining. The first was “do you work for Disney or its companies” and “When was the last time you visited Walt Disneyworld.” The last two asked you to recount how to helped someone plan their disney trip and what resources of ideas you used in 100 words (or was it characters) or less. I was matter of fact with my answers and didn’t link to my twitter account, blog, or make mention of any online presence I might have. I didn’t see how that would fit into answering the questions without sounding self-congratuatory.

As I watched the twitter folks I follow who did apply, and learned of two that made it past round two, I got a sense that this online presence meant more than answering the questions. Two of the Mom’s who were chosen are fairly big online folks with blogs, etc. So, being able to answer questions about Disneyworld was less important than being semi-famous?

Don’t misunderstand, the ones I know who made it to round two are fantastic. They will make great Disney mom’s, but I feel a little like they already are unofficial Disney Mom’s with their blogs and followers.

Which brings me to my thought that the Disney Moms panel might have outlasted its time. It was originally a one year experiment and has hung on now for several years. Outsider looking in, I don’t actually go to the Disney Mom’s site to ask questions. I already have an established set of go to sites that can answer those things I can’t answer for myself. I find the Disney Moms site simplistic. It gives the simple answer, but not necessarily the data. Perhaps it’s just my engineers need for data and the ability to draw my own conclusions.

In the end, this could all just be sour grapes, and I am not Disney Moms panel material. I think this might be the last time I apply (she says in earnest but knows might not be true).

Best of luck to those who did make it to round two. Be sure to represent us, the rejected ones, well. 🙂

RSM.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

