RSM Review: Wi-Fi iPad

Back when the iPad was announced, I told myself that I wasn’t going to (again) be one of those first adopters who immediately go out and preorder whatever new and shiny toy that Apple announced. I was going to be strong and wait for the second version. I wasn’t going to buy the first edition only to find that a second, and better, edition came out shortly thereafter.

Then the iPad went from being announced to actually shipping, and I knew I had to have one. Using mother’s day as an excuse, I ordered one for myself and thanked my kids and husband for a wonderful surprise gift!

Since we don’t have 3G-coverage out in the country where I live, I opted for the wi-fi mode. Since I wasn’t sure how much I’d fill it up (I am still using my original iPhone with it’s 8 GB of space and have managed to keep 1 GB free) I went with the 32 GB model. The iPad took about two to two and a half weeks to arrive at the time. Supply has managed to catch up with demand, so that iPads arrive within a few days of order for lucky folks who decide to take the plunge now.

When I first got the iPad, I immediately plugged it into my Mac laptop, and synced with my iTunes account. This is the same iTunes account that my personal iPhone is synced to. I downloaded all of the apps that I currently use on my iPhone as a start. Over time, I’ve eventually deleted the ones that didn’t update to the larger aspect ratio of the iPad over iPhone(iPod).

Aside from the fact that I am a huge Apple fan, and have loved every product of theirs I have purchased for home use, I have to say that I really love the iPad. It’s almost completely replaced my laptop for home use. I use it to surf the web, make online purchases, read email and twitter (yes I tweet) and play games. I had started to use a painting/drawing application on my iPhone called Brushes a while back, but have found it hard to paint on such a small screen. With the iPad, the screen is a perfect size to do some sketching and painting. I’ve started to make time to get back to artwork.

My kids immediately took to the iPad. They are both pretty savvy about navigating their way around my iPhone already, so using the iPad was an easy adjustment. We’ve found a lot of entertaining and educating apps from the app store for them to use. In the end, they enjoy using the same apps that I use (Brushes, Safari, and a couple other simple drawing apps).

The last area where I thought I’d use the iPad for was reading. I don’t have a Kindle but the thought of being able to read books on an edevice was intriguing. As it turns out, I prefer reading my books on paper, rather than on the iPad. However, I do use it to read pdfs, both with a pdf reader called Goodreader and now with iBooks (Apple’s book reading app) since it’s latest version can support that format.

I could see iPads being used at work as research tools. They give engineers internet and a stack of books without having to lug around a laptop and a physical stack of books. For home use, this is a no brainer. If you’re at all intrigued about getting one, you should just jump right in. Recently, Apple started to sell refurbished units at $50 off the new price. That reduction might be enough to get those on the fence to jump right on down. The holidays are coming. The iPad would be a great gift for the Apple fan who has everything.

Next up, reviewing some of my favorite apps….

Enjoy,
RSM

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

