Interfering, but only a little

School has been in session for almost three weeks now for my children. As I wrote here, the night before the first day of school, the realization that his friends were in another class hit my son. He spent that evening and the morning before leaving for school in tears over missing his friends. No matter what I said, he was desperate about not wanting to go to school. After much talking, and drying of tears, he told me he’d be strong and go to school and give it a try.

After dropping him off, I spent the rest of my drive to work in tears myself. I hate to see my children sad, and they are still young enough that I feel I can and should intervene (interfere?) when things aren’t going the way they want them to. Once I got to my desk, I tweeted out my feelings and then wrote a blog post. Once cup of coffee later, and I decided to call the school.

I spoke with the front office and asked what the process was for switching students from one classroom to another. There are two of each grade, from 1st through to 8th grade in this private school. The office told me that I had to speak to the teacher directly. So, I left a message on the teacher’s voicemail, appealing to the fact that this shy, sensitive good student was really sad about all of his friends being in the other class and that I’d like to talk to her about whether he can be moved. In the end, I said that my worry might be for naught as he settled into his new classroom.

The teacher, bless her heart, understood the agony that mother’s of young children go through when we see them sad. Calling me back as soon as school was over (about 3:30pm) she told me all about Connor’s day. As far as she could tell, he fit right in to the class and was having a lovely time. She said that if I wanted to pursue it, I could call the principal and work the system but from her point of view, he seemed to be getting along fine and enjoying his classmates and his time in class.

When I picked my son up at after school care, I asked how his day went, careful not to let on that I was looking into moving him to the other classroom. His response was resoundingly positive. He really liked his classmates and teacher and learned a lot. He got to play with his friends on recess and after school and had an overall good day. I asked if he liked his teacher and, in that “why of course mom” style that 7 year old boys possess, he almost dismissed my question with his simple yes answer.

I dropped any more thoughts of moving him after that, and he’s been happy in his classroom every since.

I did talk to his teacher twice more about the whole thing the following two weeks at the evening parent/teacher meetings. The school has a meeting the first week called “curriculum night” where the teachers present to the parents what they are teaching this year. The second week the parent meeting is a gathering of the principal, teachers and parents with a sort of kick off rally for the school year. Both times I told her how grateful I was for her sensitivity, and both times she stressed that she knows how parents feel when they send their children off unhappily to school. That was part of why she called me back immediately, rather than letting it go overnight.

In the end, I am glad that I stuck my nose in and asked, because I feel I know his teacher a little better and she knows that I am an involved parent who’s as concerned with my son’s academic growth as with his emotional growth. If I’d have had to have pushed the system, I would but I am glad that I didn’t.

RSM.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

