Space and Astronomy apps on my iPhone

I was playing with my iPhone the other day, and thought it was time to look through what space and astronomy related apps I have my iPhone. I have a whole pane of apps that I call my “science apps” on my iPhone. Since I am still using my first generation original iPhone, I can’t run the new iOS 4 with it’s cool folders. Once I upgrade, I will be creating Science and Astronomy folders all over the place.

If anyone is looking for some beautiful pictures and space related education apps, here are the ones I’ve downloaded to my iPhone and have enjoyed enough to keep. Most of them were free or were being offered free for a limited time. I tend to grab free apps up as soon as I find them, test them, and keep or delete them depending on how much I enjoyed them. The list below are what I’d consider keepers.

Just for clarification (in case folks were wondering) a number of these apps are ones created by NASA and the various NASA related entities (like JPL). Because all of the data gathered by NASA is done using taxpayer dollars, the apps we create using that data are free for public use. Every image captured by every camera on every telescope, spacecraft, launch vehicle, etc. is the property of the United States taxpayers. Use them. Enjoy them. Learn from them.

Ok, off of my soapbox.

Among the iPhone astronomy apps I have on my phone are:
NASA (an HD iPad app was released last week!!)
Distant Suns (Lite, I currently only have the free version)
Planets Still Free for the International Year of Astronomy
Hubble (access images from the NASA telescope on your phone!)
Space Images (a Jet Propulsion Lab collection of NASA space images).
SkyVoyager planetarium iPhone app, not by NASA, with a price of $14.99, but very powerful and information packed.
3D Sun Images from NASA’s STEREO satellites.
Moon Globe (also free. 3D graphic display of the lunar surface. The Apollo landing sites are labeled).
APOD (Astronomy Picture of the Day) – I actually think I might remove this one. Hasn’t been updated in a long time.

And that about wraps it up. There are a lot of free apps out there with fantastic images and information about our universe and the planets in our solar system. NASA has done a really great job of putting out apps for free to the public. Since several of them are free, it can’t hurt to check them out. You just might find something interesting.

In addition to my iPhone, I also have an iPad (big surprise). I’ve got some of the same apps over there. Not all of them have HD versions out yet. I will be reviewing one of them, my most recent addition as favorite space app: Star Walk, soon. I bought it last week for my iPad after seeing it on the latest Apple iPad commercials. It’s as awesome as those 5 seconds made it seem. Hopefully I will have time to put together some coherent thoughts sooner or later.

Enjoy
RSM

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

