No waterpark for me

Venus from NASA Planetary PhotojournalToday is the last water park visit for my kids at Summer camp. I’ve volunteered to go along as a chaperone several times this summer. This is my daughter’s first time in summer camp, and she seems to do better when I accompany her on the trips. Or at least, she’s less anxious before leaving on the field trips if she knows I will be joining her. She’s a vibrant little lady but this summer, she’s taken to being a bit skittish about new things.

I had signed up to go on this field trip at the beginning of the summer. Normally, the collaborative team I am on meets on Monday, Wednesday and Friday of every week, in the afternoons. That far out, I thought I might be able to miss a few hours of our session. Turns out, this is a kick off to start a new session, and I have to be here. The destination of the design session this month? The photo above.

We’ve been working fast and furious on this team, and to say that I am burnt out would be an understatement. I was looking forward to being with the kids even for just three hours, to get away from work. That is not to be the case. 😦

They are one hour into the field trip as I type this. I hope that they have fun. Perhaps I can make it up to them by leaving from work early today.

Fingers crossed.
RSM

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. In addition to starting this blog, I have been writing for the parenting blog GNMParents under the name RocketScienceMom (or RSM for short). All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

