The ants were marching …

Yesterday evening, after dinner, my husband went outside to do some of his outside chores: watering the tomatoes, checking on the new grass that was growing, etc. when he stopped and started watching something in the grass. The kids and I were in the breakfast nook, watching him, and wondered what had managed to catch his attention.

Within a few minutes, he came back inside, and asked us all to put our shoes on and follow him outside. Follow in his footsteps. He was very specific. We could be as loud as we wanted but we must follow right behind him. That told me there wasn’t some animal that we’d scare away, it as something different.

We walked into the grass, next to the driveway, between our house and the neighbors and then we stopped. There, hurriedly moving in a line, in and out of the grass, were ants. Tons of ants. More than I could count. They were on a mission and moving fast. Those who were heading down the lawn were carrying small white objects, those heading back up the lawn, carried nothing. They were relocating the entire colony and they were doing it in a hurry.

Our neighbor had been mowing his lawn earlier that afternoon (he cuts his grass practically every day) and must have disturbed the ants home. Whether he sprayed the tree they were living in/under or just ran over the entrance with his lawnmower, I am not sure. All I do know is that the ants got the word to do a total evacuation and that is just what they were doing.

So we followed this line of ants, down the yard, toward another tree about 100 ft away from their first tree home. From an ant’s point of view, they were moving these ant baby eggs miles to safety. For most of the ants, the eggs were more then half their size. I explained it to my son, it would be if he carried his little sister all the way to school. She’s nearly his size.

I don’t know if the colony finished their move before sundown. I didn’t think to check on them this morning as we left for the kids summer camp (and me for work). I was in a hurry. I will try to remember tonight, when we get home, to walk out and check on their progress. After how efficiently they were working last evening, I would imagine they accomplished their move well on schedule. Amazing. Sometimes nature reminds us just how well she works.

About rocketsciencemom
I am a rocket scientist in my day job, and a mother of two all the time. I'm a pop culture addict and amateur artist in my spare time. My typical preferences tend toward sci-fi and fantasy genres but I love a good drama or comedy. Reading the blogs of fellow Lost fans over the years has motivated me to finally write my own. All drawings and images on this blog are property of RocketScienceMom

Leave a Reply

